Time to plan for 2015!

As 2014 comes to an end, it is time to make plans for my writing in 2015. The Ruby Queen, Book 1 of the Soiled Dove Sagas is in the editing process. I have submitted it to some publishers, but really think I will be self-publishing again. I will be taking a much more active role in promoting this work. 2014 has been a year of learning about many new things. I’ve made several new friends in my Writers’ Workshop and continue to make new connections in the industry. With the ease of self-publishing, the industry is evolving. Brick and mortar book stores are rapidly going the way of the postal service, being replaced by the internet. Books like letters can be quickly transmitted over the net to readers via e-readers. Some of us still think a book should be a tome of paper pages between an alluring cover, but those consumed by their love of gadgetry are slowly making us obsolete.

I have actually begun Book 2 of the series, The Queen of the Cow Towns, and will work on that in 2015 while I navigate my way through promoting my work. I am finding that promotion, like writing is an ongoing learning experience. Why did I always think the writing was supposed to be the hard part? That is a notion instilled in us by language arts teachers from an early age. I am beginning to think a quick course in economics should be added to that curriculum so budding authors can get a more accurate picture from the very start and begin coaching themselves about promotion and marketing. Perhaps if the language arts instructors added a segment where the student had to write a story, edit it, and then try to sell it to her fellow students would be a good idea. Maybe an anthology of the class’ work could be done, a cover design created, and a marketing plan created as a class project. I could go on. My daughter home schools and I help her with projects sometimes.

I will spiff up my query letters and put some effort this year into finding an agent. I will try to get to more conferences to put myself out there and meet more people. I have plans for attending book signings and other public events to promote my work.

I think 2015 is going to be a very full year. I hope it is for you all as well.

One thought on “Time to plan for 2015!

Leave a comment