You get a magic sword! You get a magic sword! Everyone gets a magic sword!

Very informative for those writing fantasy!

Entertaining Stories

Charles Yallowitz and I are doing a blog swap today. I asked him to give us a brush up on writing magical items into our stories. I hold this advice is good across the spectrum of speculative fiction. Upscale science fiction items will run into the same issues. Here is Charles’ primer on magic items:


Thank you to Craig who has asked me to write about magical items and give some tips on how to use them. As you can guess, I primarily write fantasy stories and enchantments are classic fare of the genre. So this topic is up my alley and now I realize how often I use these things. Is that a good or bad thing? Well, it really depends.


You see, there are many schools of magic item usage and I’m going to mention two of the big ones. There are Lord of the Rings type worlds…

View original post 874 more words

Leave a Reply

