Finally getting the prompts for the challenge.

Pirate Code=Writing Rules. Clearer now? :)I’m going to need to play a little catch up, I guess. I missed a few days in the challenge. I will try to cover the subjects I missed quickly in one long blog.

What do I read?: I am currently hooked on all things James Rollins! I love his action adventure novels and have read them all. I’m also quite enamored of his new vampire series about priests who take the blood of Christ, blessed wine, rather than blood. It’s a great new angle on the vampire genre.

What do I avoid reading?: Nonfiction techy stuff. My brain won’t process it.

How would my writing change if I read more nonfiction?: I wouldn’t be writing at all because my brain would be fried. I have picked up a few nonfiction books for research on the subject matter of my novels, but I generally avoid nonfiction. I read, as I write, for escapism and enjoyment. I find no joy in nonfiction.

What is my writing process?: I get up in the mornings and go to my laptop. I read my e-mails, scan my Facebook, then write. I sit on the couch with some quiet zen music playing and write. I try to do at least 2500 words per day or one good chapter. I will generally read the chapter from my last session and do edits before beginning a new chapter. On a really good day when the ideas are flowing I can get up to 6K words down. As a rule, I average about 2500 plus the edits from the day before’s work.

Who is my favorite literary character?: That is a hard one because I’ve had so many over the years. Who would I like to have over for tea? That’s easy. I’d love to bend the ear of the Vampire Lestat. I’d love to hear about what was going on in the 19th Century from someone who was there. Who knows, maybe he’d offer to make me immortal and fix what the stroke took away.

How did the idea for my book come to me?: I got the idea for the Legend of the Swamp Witch from a ghost story I told around campfires years ago.  My idea for The Soiled Dove Sagas came from a documentary I saw about prostitutes working in the California gold fields. I saw it years ago, but it stuck with me and after watching the HBO series Deadwood, I thought a book series about women working as prostitutes in the Old West would be interesting. My book Sweet Rewards was written on a dare. Could I write a Romance novel when I really don’t read them? I did. I wrote Promises in much the same way. I was asked if I thought I could write something contemporary when I generally write in the 19th Century. I did.

What is my outline process?: I’ve written on this subject before. I’m more of a seat of the pants writer than an outliner. I did a very extensive Snowflake outline before writing The Ruby Queen, but for Queen of The Cow Towns I did a much less structured outline because I already knew my characters. I didn’t need the character development part of the Snowflake outline. I have looked at Scrivner, but as I’ve said before, I’m not techy. It would take me forever to figure it out and probably put me in a nut house trying. I plot where I want the story to begin and end. I let the characters take me there. My friend and coach, Adam Sterling tells me this causes me to bird-print a lot. He recommend the Snowflake for every story, but I’m lazy.

Now, for today’s prompt: How would I turn my fiction into nonfiction?: I suppose I could write a good bit about prostitution in the 19th Century. I’ve studied it extensively over the past couple of years. I could also write about women’s fashions of the time as well as women’s rights or their lack there of. All of those have gone into my books. The erotic romances would never fit into a nonfiction category.

I think I’m caught up now and will write tomorrow on the assigned topic. Until then: Write On!

Leave a Reply

