NaNoWriMo is almost here!

10685237_10202746279844942_860401557_nNational Novel Writing Month is almost here! Last year I wrote the first book of my Soiled Dove Sagas for NaNoWriMo. It was fun. I enjoyed the challenge of writing a complete first draft in 30 days. I’ve written four more since then. I’m hooked.

I thought seriously about writing a YA novel for the challenge this year, but have changed my mind. I’m not certain I’m ready to revisit my childhood anxieties just yet. I will go back to Mattie and Roxie and finish book 3 in The Soiled Dove Sagas, Crown Queen. I had 13 chapters written, but decided to scrap it. I will start over with a new outline. I have the bones for the third book. I know where it begins and I know where I want it to end. I just have to put it together so it’s exciting, full of action, and conflict.

I reread my 13 chapters and found them boring. Roxie has a couple of exciting adventures in a stagecoach and shoots some bad guys, but the story seemed to get bogged down. I need to figure out how to get it moving. Am I blocked? I thought I was and moved on to a couple of other projects. That usually helps. I’ve set Crown Queen aside for two months now. It’s time to get back to the girls and put them in a good place.

I’ve been told that you know you’re a writer when you worry about how your characters are doing where you left them in the last manuscript. I’m there! Does George Martin worry about where he left poor Jon Snow? Did Twain worry about Tom and Huck? Did Robert Jordan worry over his Wheel of Time characters between books? I think every author who writes a continuing saga with the same cast of characters does. He or she wouldn’t keep writing their stories and giving those characters lives if they didn’t.

Twenty years ago I was deeply into the Sword and Sorcery Fantasy genre. I made and sold medieval clothing. I studied  medieval cooking. I always thought I’d build a Fantasy world and a host of characters for that world. I still may. Perhaps I’ll begin a world building  program this year and set a Fantasy as my NaNoWriMo project in 2016.

For the time being, I’m stuck in 1878 Prescott, Arizona, with two prostitutes. I know where they are now and I know where I want them to end up. I just have to figure out how to get them there that is engaging and exciting. OMG! I have 8 days to get an outline put together so I can begin with a clear picture. No pre

Until tomorrow:  Write On!

Leave a Reply

