NaNoWriMo Day 3

lavender cottageI can happily report that I have over 11K words written for my NaNoWriMo project The Man in Black. I’ve successfully transferred the two chapters from The Legend of the Swamp Witch and added an additional 2K. I only need to come up with about another 40K to finish the project! Twenty-seven more days! No sweat! The pretty picture has absolutely nothing to do with this post, but it makes me feel good.

I actually appreciate time constraints. My best projects seem to come out of working on a deadline. I may take a break after this project. I’m going to help my daughter with an edit of her new project. I’ve never worked on the editing side of the table, other than critiques, but I’m looking forward to it. My Editing presentation at the Southwest Valley Writers’ Conference is this weekend. I figured I should put my money where my mouth is and actually edit something.

I think our presentation is going to be awesome. Cody Wagner has worked his behind off putting together a spiffy slide presentation. Jacob Shaver is going to give an in depth presentation about what he looks for as an Editor. I’m going to stand by trying to look pretty and professional. All three of us bring a lot to the table as writers, editors, and critiquers. I think it is going to be a fun and informative presentation.

My friend and Mentor Adam Sterling wants to do a collaborative novel. We’ve been talking about it for a while now, but I think we are going to dive into it after the Holidays. He wants to do a romance from the computer dating angle. He’ll write the male’s side while I write the female’s. Unfortunately, I don’t think he’s going to let me kill anyone. He’s usually the one I kill, but I even it out with lots of gratuitous sex before he gets bumped off. He’s always seemed happy with that.

Hopefully my editor will have Queen of the Cow Towns ready for my rewrite within the next few weeks. I had hoped to have her published in September, but **** happens. I got side tracked by other projects and John has been traveling and working on a play he’s directing. I’ve found that most writers I know are like kittens and easily distracted by pretty lights and shadows. Attention Deficit Disorder?

Speaking of staying on task, I’d better get back to The Man in Black and try to pound out another 2500 words. If I can do that, I’ll make the 50K word count well before the end of the month.Man in Black cover

Until the next time:  Write On!

Leave a Reply

