NaNoWriMo Day 6

The first draft of The Man in Black is 7 chapters in at 23,200 words! Less than 30K to make it! I wrote a little today, but had to do a couple of pieces for our presentation tomorrow at the Southwest Valley Writers Conference. I had to write a couple of flash fiction pieces with glaring editorial mistakes for our critique session of the  presentation. I never realized how difficult it would be to write poorly after you’ve figured out how to do it better! I had to throw in some rambling run ons, some POV shifts, wrong words (there for their), missed punctuation, etc. It proved to be interesting. Oh,yah and some passive verb sentences, too.

Cody and I are meeting at his house tonight for pizza and a quick run-through. He has all the spiffy slides and projectors to go along. Better for me to go to him than have him lug all the stuff over here. I have to get up early in the morning to pull myself together and get through registration at 8. I’m selling copies of The Ruby Queen and Promises. Changing Hands Book Store is handling the sales and I’m really surprised they didn’t have the event on their calendar. I suppose because it’s a prereg gig for writers and not the public.BookCoverImage Ruby QueenSorry, couldn’t pass up the opportunity for some shameless self-promotion!

I tried to write a few paragraphs of The Man in Black today, but found myself tripping up with the grammar mistakes I thought I’d conquered. The writing badly part of the project may have unforeseen consequences. I can probably use a day or two away from it, anyhow.

This is just a short update post and I hope you are all writing away!BookCoverImage Promises

Until the next time:  Write On

Leave a Reply

