Writing prompts: I was crushed

I got a list of 101 writing prompts and decided to use them for my blog posts as I’m terrible at keeping up with this blog. I’m beginning with prompt number 101, though, because that’s just how I am.

I was crushed when I realized the promotion company I hired, Soul Captured Books, took my 350.00 and has done absolutely nothing. They emailed me daily about what they were going to do until they got my money–then absolutely nothing! I’ve contacted them a couple of times and gotten a few curt replies.

I’m on a fixed income and 350.00 is over a third of my monthly income. I had high hopes of help with my Social Media presence, setting up book signings, my website, and all the other things they promised. In the back of my mind I had this little voice telling me it’s a scam, but I was hopeful.

I was crushed when I realized I’d been scammed. I’ve become quite the skeptic, and that has crushed me as well. I’ve lost my ability to trust. I see things online and I immediately think–scam. Stay away and don’t give it a second thought. They just want to steal your money. It’s a little soul-crushing.guardian angel

I’ve since contacted an individual and she has agreed, for a modest fee to do most of the things this company promised. I’m looking forward to working with her and I’m optimistic. Again, I’ll sing her praises here if things work out. You may ask why I don’t do this stuff myself. It’s simple; I’m the world’s biggest technophobe. I try to write every day, as well. I don’t have the time or the desire to spend hours posting on social media sites and I have no idea how to update my website. If I can pay 75.00 a month to have someone else who needs the money and enjoys it, I’m happy to do it.

I’m finishing up book 3 of my Soiled Dove Sagas, Crown Queens. It will end the series, but it doesn’t necessarily mean we won’t hear more from Mattie and Roxie. I just sent a new historical romance manuscript to JK Publishing. It’s currently titled The Green River War and is set in the year 1876 on a ranch in central Texas. I took an online writing class and wrote this manuscript to the Harlequin Romance Formula outline. It was fun and I hope y’all like it. It’s tentatively scheduled for release by JK in November.

I’m also working on an erotic anthology set in an Old West saloon and brothel. I will self-publish this as it’s not a romance with a Happily Ever After Ending and it’s pretty raw erotica. I’m working on it as time permits and ideas strike me.

Until next time: Write On!

Leave a Reply

