A Third of the Year In Already!

I can’t believe we are a third of the year into 2017 already! I’ve been busy. I recently published a new Western Romance, The Grass Widow, about a woman who is divorced by her husband and set up to live in the local rooming house, which is also the local brothel. Callie turns the tables on her conniving former husband, when she uses her skills as a seamstress to make ends meet. She also finds love. I enjoy writing these period romances. Things were so different for women then and writing about that helps me to appreciate what I have as a woman now.Grass Widow cover

My big publication so far this year is Not Prepared, an apocalyptic-type thriller. I basically blew up the western half of the country. Great fun! Earthquakes, volcanoes, evil FEMA agents, and a little romance–of course. I hope you’ll give it a read. This genre is something very new for me. I love reading it and hope I did a decent job writing it. Please drop a review on Amazon and let me know.Not Prepared cover

And just for fun, I wrote an Erotic Novella, Thirsty Coyote Tales, set in the Old West. I tried to show what really made the Wild West so wild! I wrote this under my pen name Whiskey Treat. Again, I hope you will give it a read and drop a review on Amazon.soiled-dove

OK, enough soulless self-promotion. I hate that as an independent author, I’m forced to do that, but that’s the business of writing these days. I’m trying to find the correct formula, but alas, haven’t yet. I think the writing is good, and the stories are sound, but the trick is finding the formula to make sales. I’m definitely NOT in this for the money, but some money would be nice.

I write because I have stories to tell. It also helps me to escape into a world of my own creation without being hauled off to a psych ward. I can go to the Old West and have fun with cute cowboys, blow up a city, or cut off a guy’s private parts without worry. It’s cathartic.

I hope you will join me sometime. OK, a little more shameless self-promotion. As a child, I suffered physical abuse. One of my former teachers told me I should tell that story. I’ve avoided it. There are plenty of books out there about abused kids. All of my books have a shadowy glimpse of it, but I don’t write memoirs. In my current WIP I’m taking a step in that direction, however. It’s a bit heart-wrenching, but I’m going to give it a shot. It won’t be a memoir, but a fictionalized version of things I and my siblings endured.

Until next time, Write On!

Leave a Reply

